RTM 24                                                                                                                                                                                                   http://www.watchingtheriverflow.org/RTM/RTM 24.htm



Mann Auditorium

Tel-Aviv, Israel

17 June 1993



Disc 1 [63:19]

1. Hard Times [5:02]

2. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again [8:11]

3. All Along The Watchtower [5:04]

4. Just Like A Woman [7:38]

5. Tangled Up In Blue [12:39]

6. You're A Big Girl Now [6:05]

7. Watching The River Flow [6:01]

8. Jim Jones [6:46]

9. Tomorrow Night [5:49]


Disc 2 [49:48]

1. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [6:58]

2. Everything Is Broken [4:34]

3. I And I [7:47]

4. Simple Twist Of Fate [10:52]

5. Maggie's Farm [5:44]

6. Ballad Of A Thin Man [9:37]

7. Highway 61 Revisited [4:13]



Concert # 482 of The Never-Ending Tour. Second concert of the 1993 Europe Summer Tour. 1993 concert # 26.

Concert # 26 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric

slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion).

1, 8-11, 18 acoustic with the band.

4, 5, 7, 9-11, 14, 18 Bob Dylan harmonica.

1 Bucky Baxter (concertina).

9 new songs (50%) compared to previous concert. 9 new songs for this tour.



Some track transitions are not entirely seamless

Mr. Tambourine Man and Blowin' In The Wind are missing from this copy

D2 T1: [1:32] volume drop

D2 T6: [8:17, 8:30 - 9:25] intermittent channel-to-channel fuzz, ending in a split-second dropout

D2 T7: intermittent channel-to-channel fuzz leading up to the song cutting out at 4:10.


SOUND: A chubby sound here (worse for the first few songs, then cleaning slightly), with those usual drawbacks typically

associated with such a sound: The vocals are dominating, which would be okay if whatever rig recorded this could handle

the load, which it cannot. So expect mild vocal distortion and the music buzzes a bit on the faster songs in the early going.

Acoustic tunes clean up pretty well. For those of you who play music, imagine singing or playing out of a blown amp, that's

exactly what this sounds like. It sounds blown. Now, all that said and done, fear not. By the time you get down to Tangled

and Big Girl Now and the like the rig has found more room in which to handle the show, and things look up a bit.


COMMENTS: Tangled is a Tony highlight, he thumps that puppy but good. I like how Bob toots a little tack-on harp at the

very end too. Big Girl Now has some miserable guitar playing from Bob but his vocals more than make up for that

transgression, he sings this very prettily. Check out the bizarre jam breakdown in Watching The River Flow (bizarre even

for 1993), it's as if they suddenly slam the emergency breaks on and then everybody sort of quickly passes the musical hat ,

changing tempos, exchanging opinions, etc. Tomorrow Night gets a cool, almost militant sounding clap-along, not at all like

the ragged and out-of-time attempts some places in Europe are infamous for. This one has a slow tempo, and I don't know

why but it seems to fit. Very strange to hear a clap-along from the stage. Bob delivers the goods on the song as usual, I'm

telling you the guy doesn't mess that one up. As lovely and excellent sounding as Don't Think Twice is, Everything Is

Broken is pretty dire, and the sound on that particular song doesn't help. Finest harp playing of the show has got to be from

Simple Twist Of Fate, he sings this one thoughtfully, and the band is courteous to his harmonica, scaling the layers of music

way back to let Bob explore things on his own a little, adding just a pulse for their part. Then, just like that, they zoom back

to a normal level and the song continues on. Thin Man is my favorite tune on these discs. The crowd yells out during the

quieter passages, and Bob is treating them to some wild phrasing. Sadly the sound over the last few tracks regresses back to

sounding pretty bad.


BOTTOM LINE: Decent show with a couple choice highlights in decent sound. Nothing I'd probably listen to again, but

still nice to hear once.



Setlist and NET info © 2001 by Olof Björner

Recording notes and comments © 2005 by the proud members of the Glenn Cripes Fan Klub


original source: http://www.gopherstick.com/RTM%2024%20JUNE%2017.htm