RTM 20                                                                                                                                                                                                   http://www.watchingtheriverflow.org/RTM/RTM 20.htm



Huntsville Convention Center

Huntsville, Alabama

19 April 1993



Disc 1 [74:49]

1. Hard Times [5:03]

2. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again [8:45]

3. All Along The Watchtower [5:21]

4. You're A Big Girl Now [5:58]

5. Tangled Up In Blue [10:23]

6. Born In Time [6:33]

7. Watching The River Flow [5:30]

8. Jim Jones [6:07]

9. Tomorrow Night [5:48]

10. Gates Of Eden [6:48]

11. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [8:27]


Disc 2 [47:05]

1. Cat's In The Well [5:07]

2. I And I [7:34]

3. Shelter From The Storm [7:45]

4. Everything Is Broken [6:55]

5. What Good Am I? [6:59]

6. Maggie's Farm [6:15]

7. It Ain't Me, Babe [6:27]



Concert # 478 of The Never-Ending Tour. Concert # 7 of the 1993 US Spring Tour. 1993 concert # 22

Concert # 22 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric

slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion)

9, 11, 14, 18 Bob Dylan harmonica.

1, 14 Bucky Baxter (accordion).

11, 18 Bucky Baxter (electric mandolin).

4 new songs (22%) compared to previous concert. 1 new song for this tour



Some track transitions are not entirely seamless

D1 T3: [0:00] volume lowers

D1 T6: [0:01 - 0:04] dropout, digi-fuzz

D1 T9: [0:53] volume raises

D2 T1: [0:00] digi-spike

D2 T7: [6:17 - 6:27] song cuts, dead runoff


SOUND: Raw and blown out, especially on the electric tunes. Some vocal distortion on the heavier songs, which naturally

throws off the overall balance something awful. Good news is that the thing adjusts after the first couple tunes and by

Watchtower we're on the straight and narrow (and compressed)...at least until Tomorrow Night.


COMMENTS: Oh brother, grab hold of something, Bob plays solid lead guitar on Hard Times...and he even sings it well.

Check out the final line, the way he carefully pronounces each word, did they upgrade the teleprompter or what? Winston

Watson is so damn hilarious, he pounds the pudding during Watchtower and the rest of the band is drawn into this dumb

call-and-answer type breakdown that's pretty great. It sounds like a fight sequence in an old episode of Batman. Winston so

often played this kind of way, it's that blunt and bullish porn music for the heavy self-lover, you know, the kind of thing you

don't notice or like until you're assured by somebody else that it's cool. The smart ones laugh it off, the dummies feel

ashamed and mope about it and tell whoever will listen that they...what the hell am I talking about? See what this band will

do to you? I zoned out through what seemed to be an average Big Girl Now, and Tangled Up In Blue is the usual Tony

Garnier smoker. Bob isn't exactly going out on a limb tonight so far. He's not doing anything extracurricular with the lines,

if you listen real hard you can hear the punching of a clock (feel free to use that in a re-write of Simple Twist of Fate, you

weirdo). Ah, beauty, thy name be Born In Time. Bob is here, the band is here, we're here, things are well. Yes, Bob

stumbles around a little and he's sung this better loads of times, but this is still really cool, especially coming after a few

lousy and bland songs. Tony goes off, rolling greasy milk between his fat and flabby bass strings, making the bad ass butter.

Bob lays it out like a private detective reporting the facts, reading from his little notebook while Tony continues to work the

pig over. A total team effort, too bad they end the song right when it was really about to take off. Oh swell, Bob thanks the

crowd and sounds like he's about to say something original only to fall back on the "...this is my ecology song coming up

right here" routine. Turns out to be nicely done, Bob's best vocals of the first set. But now we get to the good stuff...the

acoustic set. Thank you God, let's get it on. Crap, this is a bore-fest. Jim Jones is the most standard rendition I've heard in a

while and not even the always welcome harmonica bookending an otherwise ordinary Tomorrow Night can pull us out of

this tailspin. Gates Of Eden, while once again proving that somebody replaced the bulb on the teleprompter (okay, you're

right, maybe it is really a Lite-Brite) is only decently played but...it's a huge vocal victory. Bob sings the first verse...then

the second...then the third...and the fourth...can he make it? No! Yes! Just when you think he's blown it because he skips

the relationships of ownership verse and goes right into the motorcycle black madonna lines, he doubles back quickly after

he's done and nails it. This could be the best ever single-greatest, sublime...check that. He skips the next two verses and

sings the final verse and the band swiftly pack the song away before you can figure it all out. Guess we'll try again next

time, thanks for playing. Bob Dylan, the Monty Hall of musicians. Sometimes it's a bikini girl and a car, sometimes it's a

hick and his goat. At least we get a spoon-slapping Don't Think Twice, I'll take that, good way to end the acoustic set. Bob

never really gets any kind of lift tonight, he's sings well enough here and there, but you get the sense there's no interested

emotion, the man behind the curtain is down the hall taking a leak. Well enough to get the job done and collect a paycheck

without feeling too guilty about it, sure, but nothing beyond that. Hold on though, what in the name of creation are they

doing with Shelter? That intro is a bleeding magic marker on rice paper, how they even get that mess pulled into a

semblance of a song is amazing. Again though, there's just not much here, these songs are see-thru tonight. If Tony wasn't

making the pig hum, we'd have nothing at all to talk about. Bob thinks the exact same thing and quickly writes up a brand

new song about it and plays it at once, and the joyless proclamation "everything is broken" summing up this chapter

perfectly. It Ain't Me, Babe is a short player here, at barely six minutes long, but no matter how many times he ends the

show with it it's still a delight to hear. He's not butchering it, he just sings it...like he did on the record...like the safe fan

wants him to...like a broken-in pillow, good night.


BOTTOM LINE: Nice show with a couple highlights, but nothing more than that. Boy, I really wish a better source

circulated for this show...oh wait, one does. And, as Freddy "Boom Boom" Washington would never say, "I just happen to

have it here handy." Anyway, the source you want for this one is the bootleg titled "Hard Times In Alabama", the balance is

perfect and centered, and it's even nice to hear the fitful clap-along during Tomorrow Night.



Setlist and NET info © 2001 by Olof Björner

Recording notes and comments © 2005 by the proud members of the Glenn Cripes Fan Klub


original source: http://www.gopherstick.com/RTM%2020%20April%2019.htm