RTM 18                                                                                                                                                                                                    http://www.watchingtheriverflow.org/RTM/RTM 18.htm



Civic Auditorium

Knoxville Civic Center

Knoxville, Tennessee

17 April 1993



Disc 1 [78:34]

1. Hard Times [5:37]

2. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again [10:41]

3. All Along The Watchtower [5:15]

4. You're A Big Girl Now [6:02]

5. Tangled Up In Blue [10:03]

6. Born In Time [6:45]

7. Watching The River Flow [6:00]

8. Jim Jones [6:40]

9. Tomorrow Night [5:42]

10. Mr. Tambourine Man [7:47]

11. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue [7:57]


Disc 2 [54:10]

1. Cat's In The Well [5:54]

2. I And I [7:48]

3. She Belongs To Me [6:20]

4. Everything Is Broken [7:02]

5. crowd noise [1:16]

6. Man In The Long Black Coat [9:13]

7. Maggie's Farm [6:59]

8. It Ain't Me, Babe [9:34]



Concert # 476 of The Never-Ending Tour. Concert # 5 of the 1993 US Spring Tour. 1993 concert # 20

Concert # 20 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric

slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion)

1, 8-12, 18 acoustic with the band

9, 18 Bob Dylan harmonica..

1 Bucky Baxter (accordion).

4 new songs (22%) compared to previous concert. 3 new songs for this tour.



Some track transitions are not entirely seamless

D1 T1, T3, T4: track split is off, next song starts

D1 T1: [0:00 - 0:06] song starts abruptly and volume needs to settle

D1 T1: [2:07] digi-chili©

D1 T1: [3:07, 3:34] digi-mole©

D1 T1: [4:47 - 4:48, 5:16] digi-spit©

D1 T2: [1:56] digi-bile©

D1 T2: [2:13] volumes dips for the next couple songs

D1 T2: [3:44, 4:09, 8:02, 10:13] digi-spew©

D1 T3: [0:48 - 0:49] digi-frost©

D1 T3: [2:39, 3:06 -3:07, 3:32] digi-snap©

D1 T4: [0:00] volume raises a little

D1 T5: [2:26 -2:28, 5:56] digi-drips©

D1 T6: [1:46, 2:07, 2:57 - 2:58] digi-spasm©

D1 T7: [0:17, 3:40, 3:43, 5:08] digi-diaper mess©

D1 T8: [1:34] volume spike

D1 T9: [2:22] digi-gnat©

D1 T10: [6:09] digi...never mind, I'm even tired of it...

D1 T11: [0:45, 2:16, 5:16] see above

D1 T11: [7:53 - 7:57] dead runoff

D2 T2: [5:23] volume dip

D2 T6: [1:32, 2:38, 6:50, 7:32] digi-glitch

D2 T7: [0:29, 2:26, 2:34, 3:57, 4:30, 5:20, 5:52, 5:54] digi-flake

D2 T7: [2:57] volume dip

D2 T8: [0:46, 1:18, 5:48] digi-scrape

D2 T8: [2:18 - 4:46] source shifts around while adjustments are being made, sound is muffled

D2 T8: [5:58 - 6:23, 6:49 - 7:20, 8:]37 - 9:04] a backstage conversation? This thing has it all

D2 T8: [7:46, 8:05, 8:23, 8:33] digi-static

D2 T8: [9:31 - 9:34] dead runoff


SOUND: Okay, obviously if you look at the notes above this may not look pretty, and it isn't at first glance, but it looks a lot

worse than it sounds. The cook went to bed and left this one in the oven overnight, low volume half the time, but the vocals

are out in front and when the volume dips for the bulk of the concert you can crank the sound and the high end is set nicely

and things go pretty well. There is a lot of dirt on the recording though, but again, nothing so intrusive that you can't

ignore. I think a lot of it stems from the overcooked vocals distorting so close to the surface. Lots of digi-scraping, but it's

all light and I'll note most of it in the notes. It'll clean up easy I imagine should somebody be so inclined, and things are

warm and balanced otherwise, especially Tony and that crazy bass.


COMMENTS: Wow, hey, we're starting already, so much for getting ready. A beautiful (but clipped) Hard Times gets this

party started off right. And what a lovely version, Bob is all over this one, and singing really well. Mobile is good too, and

has a tasty little breakdown near the end that's cool. Oh my, listen to Watchtower, Bob stretches and yells for the first time

and it's controlled and low, we may be in for a special show here. The band is kicking ass, they just beat up Watchtower and

slapped it's mother around for good measure. Big Girl and Tangled both fall back a bit, Bob's yelling but you can hear how

much fun he's having with these things. And listen to those held notes during Tangled, go man go! Who cares what it

sounds like, you got me to grin over here, Bob, that was awesome. Born In Time is excellent, first Bob does his phrasing

thing with the vocals and then the band shines during the jam. River Flow is the Tony Garnier Show, that fuzzy bass work is

great, and Bob is feeling it as well, check out the way he fits in his lyrics perfectly on top of Tony's beat. You can hear Bob

start to gain interest and then try hard to get in synch with Tony. Then the guitars kick in with a hoedown that would make

any self respecting spoon-slapper jealous. The acoustic set is amazing, I know I have a soft spot for these tunes, but I'm not

going to apologize for it, these are outstanding versions. Only Bob can make the words "Botany Bay" sound this cool. And

just when you think the harp solo in Tomorrow Night is over, it suddenly goes on for another hour and a half. The crowd (I

forgot they were even here) goes nuts. Bob purrs out Tambourine Man, and yes, we even get a brief but fairly nutty Tam

Jam, yet on a night like this do we expect anything less than having it all? Damn it, the sound starts to go even more South

during an otherwise good airing of I and I, the vocals are too close, and break up on the loud passages. Winston Watson is a

goofball sometimes, that pound job slowdown on I and I is such a hack rookie move, no wonder he only tries it once. The

highlights keep coming, She Belongs To Me is an out of this world effort, whatever guitar accidents may happen Bob more

than makes up for it with his superb singing. The band is flawless here, one of the nicest of the NET perhaps? Maybe not

(there's no harmonica) but it's a choice cut nonetheless. Bob hits a couple high notes in Long Black Coat I don't think I've

heard him go for up to know. Just when you're preparing to cringe, sure he's going to blow over the top like usual, he goes

in the other direction and surprises you. Hell, even Maggie's is a romp. It Ain't Me, Babe finishes things off in grand style

with a long harp solo that is a fitting punctuation to the evening.


BOTTOM LINE: Brave the oft-buzzy vocals and you'll hear one damn great show. Easily one of the best vocal

performances I've heard in this set without question. Bob is putting on a phrasing clinic, marvelous. Highly recommended,

here's hoping this gets a remaster and smoothing out by somebody who can afford to go through this with loving attention

one day, it deserves it. Makes me want to go trade for the audience source just to grab a ticket and hear it again, this time

with everybody else...



Setlist and NET info © 2001 by Olof Björner

Recording notes and comments © 2005 by the proud members of the Glenn Cripes Fan Klub


original source: http://www.gopherstick.com/RTM%2018%20April%2017.htm