RTM 16                                                                                                                                                                                                    http://www.watchingtheriverflow.org/RTM/RTM 16.htm



Jackson Hall, Performing Art Center

Nashville, Alabama

14 April 1993



Disc 1 [69:50]

1. Hard Times [6:21]

2. Pretty Peggy-O [7:10]

3. All Along The Watchtower [5:29]

4. You're a Big Girl Now [6:00]

5. Tangled Up In Blue [9:31]

6. Born In Time [6:30]

7. Watching the River Flow [6:27]

8. Jim Jones [7:29]

9. Tomorrow Night [6:07]

10. Mr. Tambourine Man [8:41]


Disc 2 [24:47]

1. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [7:24]

2. Cat's In The Well [5:15]

3. I And I [6:50]

4. I Don't Believe You [5:17]***



Concert # 474 of The Never-Ending Tour. Third concert of the 1993 US Spring Tour. 1993 concert # 18.

Concert # 18 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric

slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion).

1, 8-12, 18 acoustic with the band.

1 Bucky Baxter (accordion).

9-11, 18 Bob Dylan harmonica.



The final 5 songs are not included on this source.

*** = This is from the show the night before.

Some track transitions are not entirely seamless

D1 T1: [6:03 - 6:21] next song begins; track split off

D1 T4: [5:54] dropout

D1 T6: [6:27 - 6:30] next song begins; track split off

D1 T7: [2:06 - 3:01] volume spike, sounds like they switched sources

D1 T9: [5:58 - 6:07] next song begins; track split off

D2 T1: [7:20 - 7:24] next song begins; track split off

D2 T2: [5:12 - 5:15] next song begins; track split off

DT T3: [6:45] song cuts


SOUND: After a couple guys near the recording source finish chatting the show begins. Vocals are very distant and largely

unintelligible for the first song, but hey, at least the guitars are crisp and even the wee baby accordion can be heard.

Peggy-O may as well be an instrumental, what a shame. It's not until Big Girl Now that Bob's vocals start to come out a

little. And I mean 'a little'. The overall sound is pretty nice, but with Bob's vocals being this faint it makes this an extremely

tough show to recommend in it's present form. The vocals are louder for the acoustic set, but it's now a heavy, compressed

sound that's not going to win any prizes.


COMMENTS: Highlight of the night? Bob asking the crowd if anybody believes in reincarnation after playing Jim Jones.

It would be worth it to track down the audience source of this, at least for this Tomorrow Night, if there is a way to marry

better vocals to this sound...well! And just what in the hell is going on with Tambourine Man!? Bob is turning it into a mini

Dark Star. Listen to 3:00 - 5:00, and you tell me where they're going with that. Whatever it is, I'm liking it. Anyway, the last

5 songs are cut off, but that's okay, I think I've heard enough anyway.


BOTTOM LINE: Skip this one unless you're a completist or perverted.



Setlist and NET info © 2001 by Olof Björner

Recording notes and comments © 2005 by the proud members of the Glenn Cripes Fan Klub


original source: http://www.gopherstick.com/RTM%2016%20April%2014.htm