RTM 12                                                                                                                                                                                                    http://www.watchingtheriverflow.org/RTM/RTM 12.htm



Centre Sportif

Petange, Luxembourg

21 February 1993



Disc 1 [53:22]

1. Folsom Prison Blues [4:30]

2. If Not For You [5:27]

3. All Along The Watchtower [6:21]

4. Tangled Up In Blue [11:29]

5. Shelter From The Storm [8:18]

6. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again [10:50]

7. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry [6:22]


Disc 2 [67:41]

1. Tomorrow Night [5:01]

2. Jim Jones [7:44]

3. Mr. Tambourine Man [8:12]

4. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue [6:03]

5. Cat's In The Well [6:32]

6. I And I [7:38]

7. Knockin' On Heaven's Door [7:32]

8. Highway 61 Revisited [8:01]

9. What Good Am I? [8:41]

10. Rainy Day Women 12 & 35 [2:13]



Concert # 469 of The Never-Ending Tour. Concert # 13 of the 1993 Winter Tour Of Europe. 1993 concert # 13.

Concert # 13 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric

slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion.

8-11, 18 acoustic with the band.

3-6, 10, 11, 16-18 Bob Dylan harmonica.

9 Bucky Baxter accordion.

11, 18 Bucky Baxter electric mandolin.

18 without Winston Watson.



Some track transitions are not entirely seamless

D1 T2: [0:28] volume spike

D2 T10: [2:07] Rainy Day Women cuts

D2 T10: [2:08 - 2:13] dead runoff

It Ain't Me, Babe is missing


SOUND: Solid, although there's quite a few volume 'pockets'. Vocals are clear enough and a hair out in front of the band (if

not the drums), the audience is loitering in a good way and the band is decently balanced all said and done.


COMMENTS: Folsom Prison Blues is a slurred, nasal disaster, If Not For You isn't much better, and Watchtower blows

them both away and it's not even that good tonight. Okay, let's see if this patient is going to recover or not, we all know how

it takes Bob a little while to turn the crank some evenings. Well, the band wakes up halfway through Tangled Up in Blue,

that's something. I thought I saw a flicker behind the eyes! Come on, damn you, this is too nice a setlist to have things

shake out like this. Shelter shows signs of a pulse, but that may be just the volume fluctuations playing tricks on me. The

band is desperately trying to apply Stuck Inside Of Mobile like a big fat defibrillator on Bob...and it starts to work. He's

coming around, instead of singing flat-line after flat-line he begins to phrase a little here, yell a little over there. It Takes A

Lot To Laugh is the first decent airing song of the night, at last they all seem to be on the same page. Tomorrow Night is

functional, but Jim Jones gets up and goes to the prom. Pirates, pick your bones, raging storms, blowing gales, hell yeah, get

down with your folk self, arrrrrrr! Excuse that, but it's a pretty good tune. Tambourine Man is a sprint through a

quinceanera, listen to that shuffle beat and clap along, too bad a good Tam Jam never surfaces. Baby Blue is even faster than

Tambourine Man, and Bob can't keep up, oh God did he just try to rhyme 'floor' and 'sheets'? Nurse! I and I...well, it was

interesting, I suppose. One of those times where Bob sings a few lines and they're blah but then the next few are the most

amazing you ever heard. Take a listen to that, and try to ignore the seemingly endless scale-climbing and Nigel Tufnel

hammer-on's. Heaven's Door has a sweet last verse, but the problem is waiting the ear-numbing 4 minutes and change to get

to it. Best of all is the audience singing to Bob, and to hear it from his perspective is really something cool.


BOTTOM LINE: First half sucks, second half is dotted with a couple highlights. Destined to be nothing more than

compilation fodder at best I'm afraid here folks.



Setlist and NET info © 2001 by Olof Björner

Comments © 2005 by the proud members of the Glenn Cripes Fan Klub


original source: http://www.gopherstick.com/RTM%2012%20FEB%2021.htm