RTM 08                                                                                                                                                                                                    http://www.watchingtheriverflow.org/RTM/RTM 08.htm




Utrecht, The Netherlands

16 February 1993



Disc 1 [47:18]

1. I'm Moving On [3:59]

2. The Man In Me [4:45]

3. All Along The Watchtower [6:51]

4. Tangled Up In Blue [10:53]

5. I'll Remember You [5:02]

6. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again [8:52]

7. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry [6:54]


Disc 2 [79:52]

1. Tomorrow Night [5:22]

2. Jim Jones [7:00]

3. Mr. Tambourine Man [7:17]

4. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [8:38]

5. Cat's In The Well [6:44]

6. I And I [8:04]

7. Simple Twist Of Fate [8:18]

8. Highway 61 Revisited [6:47]

9. What Good Am I? [5:50]

10. Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35 [4: 23]

11. It Ain't Me, Babe [11:25]



Concert # 465 of The Never-Ending Tour. Concert # 9 of the 1993 Winter Tour Of Europe. 1993 concert # 9..

Concert # 9 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric

slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion).

8-11, 18 acoustic with the band.

11, 18 Bucky Baxter electric mandolin..

3, 4, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16-18 Bob Dylan harmonica

5 new songs (27%) compared to previous concert. 2 new songs for this tour.



Some track transitions are not entirely seamless

D1 T2: [3:13] volume lowers

D2 T8: [6:37 - 6:47] rather horrific digi-chopping©

D2 T9: [0:26] volume spike

D2 T11: [10:50 -11:25] dead runoff


SOUND: A hint of muffling fogs this recording slightly, but don't let that stop you from picking this one up. Vocals are

close and clear, the band is a little compressed but balanced well enough to enjoy. The volume goes up over the last few

tracks but the high end suffers for it, so it's a wash. Overall warm and intimate, very nice indeed.


COMMENTS: "...oh, what a wonderful feeling / just to know you really exist / sets my heart a-reelin' / just to think it could

ever be like this!". Wow, when you sing it like that Bob I gotta go along with you. Strong vocal night, he's doing well,

finishing nearly everything on his plate. Check out Mobile, upon first listen it may seen he's locked into this lame monotone

delivery, but subsequent spins reveal a subtle shifting that's kind of cool. The one recurring trait here is that on almost every

tune he keeps stretching out lines until he runs out of music and is forced to move on. And it's deliberate, his timing is right

on, he's not just playing catch-up. He's like a prisoner in some old war flick like Stalag 17 or The Great Escape; he's quietly,

discreetly probing for openings. Only difference is he does it in the middle of a live show in front of thousands of people

staring right at him. A throw back voice for sure. This just in: Tomorrow Night rules and there's nothing any mortal can do

about it. Jim Jones hits with the weight of a meaty Masters Of War, only it's got like, pirates and other cool crap in it.

Tambourine Man takes Bob's reluctance to sing within the current arrangements a step further. Listen to how he sings just a

word or two or three where he would normally sing an entire line. He keeps letting the beat circle around and back, adding a

few more words each time it comes back around; it's either extremely thoughtful toying or extreme boredom, I can't say. (I

review live Bob shows as a hobby, my objectivity only goes so far in the end).


BOTTOM LINE: *searches Big Book Of Bob Review Clichés* Ah, yes, here we are: "A subtle, slow-building powerhouse!

Bob is interested and turns in a continuously must-hear performance! Recommended!" [page 118, 14th bullet]



Setlist and NET info © 2001 by Olof Björner

Recording notes and comments © 2005 by the proud members of the Glenn Cripes Fan Klub


original source: http://www.gopherstick.com/RTM%2008%20FEB%2016.htm