RTM 07                                                                                                                                                                                                    http://www.watchingtheriverflow.org/RTM/RTM 07.htm




Utrecht, The Netherlands

15 February 1993



Disc 1 [77:36]

1. I'm Moving On [4:51]

2. If Not For You [5:20]

3. All Along The Watchtower [4:25]

4. Tangled Up In Blue [10:53]

5. Watching The River Flow [5:02]

6. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again [8:52]

7. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry [6:54]

8. Tomorrow Night [5:22]

9. Jim Jones [7:00]

10. Mr. Tambourine Man [7:17]

11. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [8:38]

12. Cat's In The Well [6:44]


Disc 2 [50:14]

1. Cat's In The Well (again? okay...) [5:40]

2. I And I [9:02]

3. The Times They Are A-Changin' [7:25]

4. Highway 61 Revisited [8:10]

5. Ballad Of A Thin Man [9:58]

6. Everything Is Broken [6:19]

7. It Ain't Me, Babe [3:38]



Concert # 464 of The Never-Ending Tour. Concert # 8 of the 1993 Winter Tour Of Europe. 1993 concert # 8..

Concert # 8 with the 9th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric

slide guitar), John Jackson (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), Winston Watson (drums & percussion.

8-11, 14, 18 acoustic with the band.

11, 14, 18 Bucky Baxter electric mandolin..

4, 5, 10, 11, 13, 16, 18 Bob Dylan harmonica.

5 new songs (27%) compared to previous concert. 1 new song for this tour.



Some track transitions are not entirely seamless

D1 T7: [2:03, 2:50, 4:06] accident black spots

D2 T7: [3:28 - 3:38] song cuts; dead runoff

Reviewer copy has Cat's In The Well twice...


SOUND: Excellent! Crisp and well defined, and even a little punchy in spots. Vocals are loud and upfront. Drawbacks?

The instruments almost seem to swim around in the mix and change places, some growing loud while other fade down, and

you can hear the compressed nature of the recording when Bob gets behind a juicy line. There are also several spikes,

digi-crinkles© and/or pops, sprinkled throughout these discs, and damned if I can tell if they were introduced on transfer or

are from the original source, but somebody could clean it up pretty easily I'd imagine, not bad at all but worth mentioning.

I'll try to list the main ones under 'notes' where I can...Still, hey this is pretty sweet, have no fear.


COMMENTS: Lots of energy in the joint tonight, Kermit the Frog is camping out in the back of Bob's throat on some of the

songs, but not all of 'em. If Not For You follows an accident-prone but fun I'm Moving' On, and what better indication that

Bob has his head in the game than off the cuff improv like in If Not For You? Everything is mellow, check out the laid-back

context Bob has in mind; the band tries hard to snap it up already and start rocking, but Bob keeps his course steady and

picks his spots where he gives in and howls. Then he switches things up on the boys, suddenly the next song Watching the

River Flow is a swift current (ha! - sorry) that's a helluva crunchy mover that Bob is ready for, and he leans hard into his

job. From near as I can tell there's less detached jamming going on; these are much tighter shows than June and July would

begin to bring. It's interesting to hear how each of the nightly standards slowly start to unravel musically and grow into

jamming vehicles. No song is safe (save perhaps for acoustic numbers like Jim Jones and Tomorrow Night and Little

Moses) from this often boring and bewildering fate, but on the nights things were working a 10 minute song flies by when I

listen to it now. (much like the Grateful Dead routinely pulled off, although there's hardly a Jerry Garcia in this bunch)

Anyway, Mobile and Takes a Lot To Laugh whip through town, both good quality efforts. Tomorrow Night and Jim Jones

are a pair of sublime creatures, superbly crooned, and nifty. These are among my favorite songs from 1993, and they are, in

my estimation, consistently beautiful, show after show. They're simple tunes, but that they're sung so well is simply a

testament to how much respect and seriousness Bob applies to them as he sings. No matter what bad things happens to his

own songs on a given night, it's almost as if he'll be damned if these songs he didn't write are going to suffer. He tries harder

singing covers sometimes, and he tries hard tonight, you bet. Residual focus carries him through a nice Tambourine Man

and most of Don't Think Twice, but of course he shrugs back into his Bob Dylan skin in time to return to some good old

fashioned nasal masturbation in the second half. The band finally gets a shot to have some fun too, witness the guitar-fest of

Highway 61, it's as if they know this is the one song they have to use all their fancy effects and cut loose, and they don't pass

it up. You just have to laugh at Bob's style on Everything Is Broken, which now that I think about it, is a very apt title

indeed for what's going on here.


BOTTOM LINE: A good time, nice energy, many highlights, recommended.



Setlist and NET info © 2001 by Olof Björner

Recording notes and comments © 2005 by the proud members of the Glenn Cripes Fan Klub


original source: http://www.gopherstick.com/RTM%2007%20FEB%2015.htm